Thirty-Five High Tech Students Earn Excellence Awards in French

(Carbondale, IL—June 9, 2014) The American Association of Teachers of French (AATF) has recognized 35 High Tech students with Excellence Awards that salutes non-native speakers from grades 9-12 who excel in the study of French, commit to study the language by participating in French-related activities, and maintain an average over 94, announced Dr. Joseph Giammarella, Principal of High Tech High School.

The following represents the list of students who received the Excellence Award:

Bayonne residents Amina and Sara Bendaoud, Hasumi Hayashi, Maria Kaldes, Danica Lichauco, Sofia Madrid, Alexia Mavros, Kara Neal, Tyng Pan, Sophia Velazquez, and Tristan Ventura; Edelyn Vargas of Guttenberg; Harrison residents Hsinyo Yin, Mingyu Zhao, and Jessica Zhu; Nicole Albornoz, Yenibal Almanzar, Vibha Chauhan, Amy Suchodolski, and Mya Veras of Jersey City; Kearny residents Rachel Spillane and Karim Zitouni; Elizabeth Acebedo, Denisse Cortes, Jennifer Falconi, and Michelle Majano of North Bergen; Secaucus residents Rachelle Manalo, Vicky Trieu, and Luana Xu; Giselle Camino, Tania Houwayek, and Maria Villalobos of Union City; Weehawken resident Kellen Dorio; and Alessandra Carreno-Novoa and Annabelle Familia of West New York.

Founded in 1927, the AATF represents the largest national association of French teachers in the world, with nearly 10,000 members to its credit. Headquartered at Southern Illinois University, the AATF boasts 73 chapters located all across the United States, and as a professional association, it promotes the study of French, facilitates the implementation of national and state standards in the classroom, encourages minimum levels of language and cultural proficiency, creates various opportunities for teachers and students, and supplies resources for classrooms.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top